top of page
  • Writer's pictureBre

New Beginnings

For years I struggled with the concept of "home", Websters Dictionary defines home as the following:

1. One’s own dwelling place; the house in which one lives; esp., the house in which one lives with his family; the habitual abode of one’s family; also, one’s birthplace. 2. One’s native land; the place or country in which one dwells; the place where one’s ancestors dwell or dwelt. 3. The abiding place of the affections, especially of the domestic affections. 5. A place of refuge and rest; an asylum; as, a home for outcasts; a home for the blind

I’ve recently been very overwhelmed with the thought of home, where is home? who is home? what is home? I decided to dig a bit deeper and really ask myself to ponder the idea of home.


Often times I will refer to any of the houses I stay at as home. Other times I refer to home as where all my stuff is. Home can be Canada, Ontario, Niagara, the place where family is, the place I am returning to even if it is not my own. Home can be anything and can mean anything. Its seems as though “home” could just be an English word for any place.


As continue to think about what I would call I home I am reminded about what the book of Isaiah says, “Then my people will live in a peaceful habitation, And in secure dwellings and in undisturbed resting places;” -Isaiah 32:18


To me that sounds like home, a place of peace, a place of rest. Somewhere I feel safe, somewhere I can be myself. Perhaps home is just a word for “a place one can be themselves”. I think about all of the couches and spare beds I’ve slept on over the past year and realize that each place I would not have stayed if I did not feel safe, is each place relaxing and peaceful? Nope, not when kids are around, but I still felt safe, I still felt that I had  purpose being on that makeshift bed.


Home could be a place where God calls you to be, even if it isn’t “safe”. Home could be a place where you have to stay for a little while. Home could be where family or friends are. Home could be a fancy building with 15 bedrooms and 9 bathrooms. Home could be a box that you pulled out of a garbage bin. Home could be filled with laughter, or with tears, or both. Home could be anything you want it to be. What is home to you?

Perhaps home isn’t  a place, but instead a feeling…


With BRE BEAUTIFUL I'm on a mission to help you make your house feel like home, everybody needs that feeling.


14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page